Bench marked offspring of the Sri Jayewardenepura Family, the Faculty of Technology was established in January, 2016 upon the approval of the University Grant Commission and the publication of Gazette Extraordinary (No. 1948/59 Order under Section 27(1), THE UNIVERSITIES ACT, No. 16 of 1978) by the Ministry of Higher Education and Highways of Sri Lanka.

Faculty of Technology will be serving the nation by providing the higher education opportunity for the prospective undergraduates who will be enrolling to the Sri Lankan university system through the newly introduced Technology stream to the school system. The strategy behind is to harness the talents of the youth to capture the advantage of relevant emerging technologies to drive the economy by providing an education that encompasses competencies to satisfy the needs of the society.

Fully pledged faculty will be located in the Pitipana, Colombo (Techno Park of the Western Province Mega Polis Development Plan) alongside with the newly established Faculty of Engineering. Faculty of Technology consists of three academic departments offering highly practical oriented, bachelor degree programs of (i) Bachelor of Engineering Technology, (ii) Bachelor of Bio-Systems Technology, and (iii) Bachelor of Information and Communication Technology for the first time in Sri Lanka to initially cater 300 prospective undergraduates.


Student Activities