Sr. Prof. Sudantha Liyanage assumes duties as the 26th Vice-Chancellor of USJ


Senior Professor Sudantha Liyanage assumed duties as the 26th Vice-Chancellor of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura on the 09th of September 2020 at of 8.00 am amidst the blessings of the Maha Sanga.

One of the greatest possessions of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura is a sacred Relic of Lord Buddha which was presented to the most Venerable. Welivitiye Sri Soratha Thero by the King of Thailand. The bestowing of the Sacred Relic to the Vice- Chancellor as he/she assumes duties, by the Chancellor of the University has been a tradition that has been followed. It is a symbol of the value of the University. The veneration; respect and duty the relic demands is reflection of the value of the University and what is expected of the successive Vice-Chancellor.

Thus as per the said tradition: upon signing the letter of acceptance of the position of the Vice-Chancellor, The Chancellor Thero, Chief Prelate (Mahanayake) of Kotte Sri Kalayani Samagri Dharma Maha Sangha Sabha of Siyam Maha Nikaya, Ven. Dr. Ittapana Dhammalankara Maha Nayake Maha Thero bestowed the relic to the care of Sr. Prof, Sudantha Liyanage.

Senior Prof. Liyanage in his speech elaborated his plans for the university and requested the assistance of the staff body of the University to aid him in his realization of the vision and the implementation of the mission of uplifting the standards of education within the University, providing students with a comfortable learning environment and staff with a comfortable working environment.

Ven. Balangoda Sobhitha Thero, Ven. Kirinde Assaji Thero who are members of the Council of the University and the Maha Sanga of the Academic staff, members of the family of Sr. Prof. Liyanage(Sr. Prof. Janitha Liyanage, Vice-Chairperson, University Grants Commission and son), Sr. Prof. Sampath Amaratunge, Chairman, University Grants Commission, Deans of the Faculties, Librarian, Director of the Postgraduate Institute of Management, Council Members of the Universities, Members of the University Alumni Association, Emeritus Professors of the Faculty of Applied Sciences, retired academic, administrative and non-academic staff members and other members of the academic, administrative and non-academic staff were present at the occasion.