Senior Prof. Sudantha Liyanage assumed duties as the new Dean of the Faculty of Technology on 14th March 2019. Senior Prof. Sampath Amaratunge; Vice-chancellor of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Prof. M. M. Pathmalal; Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies, Dr. Anura Kumara; Dean of the Faculty of Management Studies, Mr. Gnanasiri Brito; Registrar of the University and several academic members participated in the ceremony.

Senior Prof. Liyanage was the dean of the Faculty of Applied Sciences and was the acting dean of the Faculty of Technology. Senior Prof. Liyanage obtained his B.Sc. Special degree in Chemistry at the University of Sri Jayewardenepura and obtained his Ph.D. in Chemistry, at University of Wales, Cardiff, UK. He was also a Post-Doctoral Research Fellow at the University of Wales, Cardiff and University of Ibaraki, Japan. He was the Chairman of the Royal Society of Chemistry Sri Lanka Section during 2013- 2014.