Dr. Chathuri Senanayake (PhD in Chemistry, University of Kelaniya), Senior Lecturer attached to the Department of Bio Systems Technology, Faculty of Technology, University of Sri Jayewardenepura, was awarded as the Champion in the 3 minutes Thesis Competition at the SLAYS open forum.

The SLAYS open forum was jointly organized by Sri Lanka Academy of Young Scientists (SLAYS) and National Science Foundation (NSF) of Sri Lanka in collaboration with Coordinating Secretariat for Science and Technology and Innovation (COSTI), was held on 4th and 5th October 2018 at Gall Face Hotel, Colombo, Sri Lanka under the theme “Research for impact: March of the Sri Lankan Scientists”.  This was supported by the University of Queensland, Australia, developer of the 3 minutes thesis competition.

Initially, 78 candidates from various scientific disciplines participated for the competition and 10 finalists were selected to present at the open forum.